On August 22, 2018, Illinois became the 23rd state requiring health insurance companies to cover prescribed hearing aids for children. The new law, sponsored by State Sen. Julie Morrison and State Rep. Laura Fine, requires health insurers to cover the cost of hearing aids every 36 months for individuals younger than 18 years old. It also mandates coverage for services and repairs related to the hearing aid fitting.
Illinois joins Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin in requiring some form of hearing aid coverage for children. Details such as ages covered, amount of coverage, benefit period and provider qualifications vary by state.